Pope Francis has appointed Mons. Enrique Benavent Vidal Archbishop of Valencia after the resignation of Cardinal Antonio Cañizares LLovera, Archbishop of Valencia since 2014

Mons. Enrique Benavent Vidal was born on 25 d'April 1959 in Quatretonda. He studied ecclesiastical studies at the Moncada Diocesan Seminary (Valencia), attending classes at the Faculty of Theology “San Vicente Ferrer” where he obtained the Degree in Theology (1986). He is a Doctor of Theology (1993) by the Pontifical Gregorian University of Rome. He received priestly ordination in Valencia from the hands of John Paul II 8 of November 1982, during his first Apostolic Visit to Spain.
Bishop of Tortosa from 2013.
In his priestly ministry he has held the positions of: coadjutor of the Parish of Sant Roc and Sant Sebastià d'Alcoi and professor of Religion at the high school, of 1982 a 1985; trainer at the Major Seminary of Moncada (Valencia) and professor of Theological Synthesis for Deacons, of 1985 a 1990; and Episcopal delegate for Vocational Pastoral Care, of 1993 a 1997. For three years, of 1990 a 1993, he moved to Rome to pursue doctoral studies at the Pontifical Gregorian University.
He is a professor of Dogmatic Theology in the Faculty of Theology “San Vicente Ferrer” Valencia”, of 1993; professor in the Valencia Section of the Pontifical Institute “John Paul II” for Marriage and Family Studies, of 1994; director of the Col·legi Major “Sant Joan de Ribera” from Burjassot-Valencia, of 1999; dean-president of the Faculty of Theology “San Vicente Ferrer” Valencia, of 2004, and director of the Diocese Section of the same Faculty, of 2001; Besides, of 2003, is a member of the Presbyteral Council.
He was appointed Auxiliary Bishop of Valencia on 8 of November 2004. The 17 May 2013 Pope Francis named him Bishop of Tortosa.
Other interesting facts:
In the Spanish Episcopal Conference he is the president of the Episcopal Commission for the Doctrine of the Faith since March 2020. He is also a member of the Permanent Commission of the EEC.
He was president of the Episcopal Commission for the Doctrine of the Faith from 2017. He was a member of this Commission since the year 2008. He has also been a member of the Episcopal Commission of Seminaries and Universities (Universities Subcommittee) of 2008 Until 2017.


Download document »